Travelling in the Schengen Area

The Schengen area allows free movement of persons between the signatory states but some rules are applied.

Schengen : 26 states with open borders

Since 1 July 2013, the Schengen area comprises 26 states :

- * Twenty-two of twenty-eight members of the European Union : the 6 European countries that are not members are Bulgaria, Romania, Cyprus, Croatia, Ireland and Great Britain ;
- * Four associated States, non-EU : Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

View the Map of the Schengen Space (pdf, 95 KB)

If your short-stay visa "Schengen" allows you to move freely throughout the Schengen area, you can not make the request anywhere.
You must apply for your visa at the consulate of the country where you’ll spend the most time, whether you enter through another Schengen state.

Some states represent their partners absent

Many Schengen countries have representations in Cameroon. For those who do not, other states can represent them.

So if you want to travel in Denmark, Greece, Latvia Lithuania, Malta, Czech Republic or Slovenia, you can make your application in one of the French consulates in Cameroon.

For a trip to Greece, Latvia, Lithuania or Malta, whatever the location of your home, make your request at the consular section of the Embassy of France in Yaounde

For a trip to Denmark or the Czech Republic file your application in the French consulate that serves your home.

For a trip to Slovenia, you must apply at our consulate in Douala, regardless of where you live.

The other Schengen partners present in Yaounde are Germany, Belgium, Spain, Italy and Switzerland. If your main destination is one of these (or another Member State represented by them), your visa is within their jurisdiction.

Dernière modification : 28/04/2016

Haut de page